I must be crazy

Seriously, I must be crazy.

I tried my first Once a Month cooking adventure. I got the recipes, instructions and shopping list from http://onceamonthmom.com/. I tried the traditional menu from March 2012. This is a great website which is extremely detailed, informative and well laid out.

So I had purchased all of the groceries and I have NEVER had such a full shopping cart. I was buying meats and spices I have never heard of. When I walked up to checkout, the guy said “Whoa, that’s a lot of food!”. The one thing I didn’t get was ham loaf. What in the world is Ham Loaf?! So that’s one recipe I couldn’t cook due to lack of ham loaf. 🙂

So I got up early and tried to do a couple other chores because I knew I was going to devote most of my day to cooking. I had no idea how intense it would be. One of the reasons it was so arduous is that I didn’t have time to do the prep work the night before. This would have included browning the ground beef and turkey and also chopping  a lot of the vegetables. This would have made the day much easier, but I just couldn’t get to it.

I pulled out all of the recipes and most of the ingredients and my kitchen counter was already covered, even before I started cooking. I ended up spending a total of 8 hours in the kitchen (not including clean up) and I didn’t even get to make 3 of the recipes. I’m hoping to make them in the next few days. So it definitely was a lot of prep work and cooking, but it certainly didn’t help that I have 2 young kids to take care of too.

My husband was home and doing a lot of the kid work, but he also had other things to do and we have 3 hyper dogs to entertain so it’s still a lot of work for both of us. From my last 2 months of pursuits (movies and exercising) you might remember that I barely get 2 minutes without some sort of interruption at my house. Case in point:

About an hour into cooking, my 2 year old comes up to me, holding his finger high in the air, and says “Mommy, what’s this?”. Well, of course it was poop. I know, I know. You’re probably thinking, why would it have to be poop? But in my house, it’s always poop. It’s just ridiculous. I said, ‘did you touch a dog?’ and he said ‘I pet Summer’. Summer the dog had rolled in poop and then strolled into the house like it was allowed. So, I had to stop the whole cooking operation, wash the 2 year old and then wash, not one, but 3 dogs. I figured while I’m doing it, I might as well wash all 3.

So then….I sent the 2 year old up to play in his room for a bit and when I called him to come down, all I hear is “I can’t get out of the crib”. Well, the crib is for his 2 month old brother so he’s not supposed to be in it in the first place. I went upstairs fully expecting to just lift him out and then scurry back down to resume my kitchen craziness. Well, he had other plans. Not only had he literally taken every single book, toy, stuffed animal, pillow, etc in his room and thrown them on the floor, but he had also pulled a bunch of stuff off of the walls. We had thought “how cute would it be to put their names on the walls with metal letters?” But apparently, the toddler wanted to redecorate and pulled them all off, including a lot of the nails. So I got to spend 30 minutes cleaning up toys and crawling around looking for nails in a very high pile carpet. Back to the kitchen.

So I’m making good progress, feeling pretty accomplished, when I take my calzones out of the oven and set them a little too close to the bags of soup which are cooling. The pan burns right through one of them and Corn and Chicken Chowder is pouring all over my kitchen. I managed to salvage a decent amount of it though and learned my lesson.

This is a long post because it was a long day. Here is how my kitchen looked partway through the day:

Crazy Cooking

Notice the Pack N Play with baby!

And this is how I got through the rest of the day:

Many times throughout the afternoon I thought “I am NEVER doing this again”. But after the kitchen was cleaned up and I realized I had 16 nights of cook free dinners, I might change my mind. It’s tough though. Thanksgiving has got nothing on this cooking day.

-Erin

7 Comments

  1. Cody said,

    April 2, 2012 at 2:16 PM

    what kind of recipes did u cook in order to have 16 nights of uncooked meals? i mean my wife would be really interested in that idea of cooking for mulitiple nights…i just can think of enough things that taste good reeheated or whatever…hit us back if you can…i have no idear how i stumbled across and even read ur blog…..i dont read blogs….maybe u should be a writer cuz i couldnt turn away…and its not like it was an action movie blog…aight thanks for ur help hopefully 🙂

    • selfpursuits said,

      April 3, 2012 at 4:45 PM

      Hey Cody! I made all sorts of stuff, that’s why it was such a pain. If I had made 16 pots of spaghetti, I would have kept my sanity. But the recipes I had made several crock pot dishes, a couple soups, a Greek Turkey meatloaf, turkey calzones, these baked chicken pocket things, and smoothies. The ones I didn’t get to yet are scones, stuffed pasta shells and southwest chicken wraps. The website I got them from is http://onceamonthmom.com/. There’s a lot of different menus. If your wife wants to try it, tell her good luck and have a beer ready! Take care!
      ~Erin

  2. April 2, 2012 at 2:44 PM

    Ha! love the pic of the pack and play in the kitchen, it really show the juggling you had to go through. Thanks for the 411 on once a month cooking. I had heard about it before. Would love to know how the meals turn out.

    • selfpursuits said,

      April 3, 2012 at 4:40 PM

      I’m excited to see how the meals turn out too! It was a pain, but everything looked and smelled good. I’m looking forward to the eating part! I’ll post when I start trying them 🙂

  3. Lisa said,

    April 25, 2012 at 8:40 PM

    Erin-
    Love how you chronicled your first big cooking day. The pics were great too!!! Would you mind if we shared your story?
    Lisa – OAMM

    • selfpursuits said,

      April 26, 2012 at 7:59 AM

      I would love for you to share my story!!! Some people might be nervous about taking on such a big project, but it was totally worth it and I’m so proud I’m actually cooking! My family loves it too!

  4. Cassie said,

    April 26, 2012 at 8:45 AM

    So nice to see your kitchen looking like mine on that day! Although, I only cooked for my husband and I, and we don’t have kids…but it was so much work! And although I cursed cooking that much, it was totally worth it! Good job!


Leave a comment